Entering the South

Setting intentions
I feel a block coming in
Sighted on the far shore
A storm cloud that unleashed a rain to shut us down for days
Here, from the harbour wall
Seals play in the surf
The deep swell of the ocean
(Bigger even than the approaching downpour)
Brings whale song, in between the peaks
Pink dusk
And my little duck and I
Watch out the windows
Singing whale-ish songs
Calling clouds, unafraid
To pour down the wind
Whip up the sea
While we
Knowing the safety of this warm place
Tell stories that conjure teachers
Decades later
When we dream them into existence

 

2 thoughts on “Entering the South

  1. Beautiful poem – I particularly enjoyed the line about “my little duck and I.” I’ve been through the Wheel of Initiation by Julie Tallard Johnson – it is an amazing journey and I wish you all the best with it. Thanks for following me!

Leave a comment